Saturday, 15th August, 2009.

It Isn’t Cricket

          The English Badminton Team backed out
of a competition because it – well, it’s management, I suppose – was worried
about being attacked by terrorists.

          The BBC reported, on Radio Four and on
a couple of its telly-stations, that the Welsh and Scottish Teams stayed to
play.   Congratulations to that Celtic
Alliance, then!

          I am no sports fan, but I did notice
that another sporting team, which used to be called the England & Wales
Team, has now dropped the “&
Wales”.  
That’s not because there are no Welsh players in the side.   That’s just the way English minds work.

          I know several people who’ve come to
settle in our land who, when discussing anything in
Britain, refer to “this country” as “England”.  
We who know the name of our land should ensure that we politely correct
their error.

          Mind you, on most occasions when I’ve
tried to politely correct their error, they say:  “Oh, well – you know what I mean.”   And indeed I do . . .

 

And A Postscript

          And, moments after I wrote the
foregoing, a friend rang me on the matter of the recent lack of success by the
“English” cricket team.

          “Did you hear that bit on the radio?”
he asked.   “Some sporting commentator –
I forget his name – said that match against
Australia was lost because of the English
captain’s call at the toss.   Does that
mean the English are a bunch of rotten t – “

          No, I will not publish the whole of
his comment!

 

A Strange Demo

          I have fallen off too many motorcycles
to class myself as “A Biker”, but a piece of interesting news about biking has
come my way.

          In a publication called Motor Cycle
News recently, there was a piece inviting bikers to gather at certain points in
North Wales on Sunday, 13th
September to “reclaim roads from the Police”.

          It seems that, up there in the Gog,
bikers are being hassled by our boys in blue for being – well – just
bikers.   In the Summertime, lots of
bikers visit
Wales for recreational purposes.   The overwhelming majority of them are decent
lads (and, I must add these days) lasses who enjoy the thrill of two-wheels and
like to have a look at our land.   They
spend their money here, much of it at cafes and shops in rural areas.   So they help the rural economy.

          Yes, some of ‘em seem to do daft
things on our narrow country roads, but in the main they are a grand bunch.

          So, if you’re a biker, check out the
MCN’s article – you may be able to help restore a little democracy to
North Wales.

Archie Lowe

archie.lowe@laughingdragons.co.uk

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

