Saturday, 14th November, 2009.

On The Edge

     Following my comments last week on the
“trailer-park ghettoes” along the
North Wales coast, another peculiar item came
my way this week concerning immigration into
Wales.

     Those “ghettoes”, you’ll recall, are full
of the self-unemployed from
England occupying holiday caravans all the
year round.   They claim all sorts of
benefits and are doing harm to the local holiday trade.

     Now, it appears, many people coming from England to live in our land are having
difficulties settling in.   This is due,
they claim, to feeling marginalised when the Welsh language is used around
them.

     So why did they choose to come here in the
first place?   I know – as an immigrant
myself – that
Wales (all of it) is a wonderful place to
live.   I came here long after I
discovered this country (makes me sound like some sort of Prince Madoc in
reverse!).

     I visited Wales regularly before I moved here.   I learned of its quirks and its sense of
community and that Cymraeg was the first language of masses of its population.

     What I discovered convinced me that this
was the place for me.   It was, if you
like to be poetic about it, my natural spiritual home.

     Are these poor dears who feel so put out
upon hearing Cymraeg spoken by their neighbours terminally thick, then?   Did they just take a pin and bung it in a
world-map and say “Wherever this pin goes, we’ll go and live there”?   Had they not done any homework whatsoever?

     Look – we, the people of Wales, must sort this whole thing out
soon.   We must no longer tolerate the
scroungers coming here so that they cannot be spotted by the Social Security
people.   We must not allow dopey newcomers
to complain – and even try to destroy – our culture.

     Again, I say all that as a immigrant.   I am not a fluent Welsh speaker (though I
want to be).   And the only way to
protect what we have is to strengthen our Assembly and pass laws which will
keep
Wales as . . . well . . . Wales.

 

Congratulations!

     How good to hear of the terrific win that
the couple down in Gwent have had!  
Forty-five million quid is not a bad bonus-from-the-blue.

     The Media were full of the ninety-million
which had been won on the Lottery – and quite a few English papers and radio
stations actually know where
Wales is.

     If winning all that money draws attention
to the fact that
Wales is a separate part of Britain from England, then – purely as a Welsh patriot,
you understand – I volunteer to be the next winner.

 

On The Subject Of .
. .

     . . . The Media, I was unable to tune
in to Radio Wales as I travelled about over the weekend.   So I had to be content with BBC Radio Four
UK.

     I am not, as I often say, any form of
sports-fan.   But I was keen to know the
outcome of the All-Blacks game.   And I
had to wade through a lot of talk on Radio Four before they got round to giving
out the Sports News.

     It was early evening and the All-Blacks
game had certainly been over for a while.  
Yet, though I heard sports bulletins from all over
England, Scotland and Ireland, and a few from overseas – but
there was not one thing said about
Wales versus The All-Blacks.

     Now then, Auntie Beeb, if you have a radio
station called Radio Four UK, should it not be an all-inclusive station?    By that I mean that it should cover
important events from every part of your “United” Kingdom.

     Or does your Director believe that Wales has already gained independence
from
Westminster rule . . .?

 

However . . .

     . .
.
Radio Four calmed my annoyance this week by broadcasting two programmes
which mentioned our land.

     ‘Open Country’ was full of praise for
Robert Owen, who was the brain behind Owenstown, Lanarkshire.   Let us not forget that great man – and great
Welshman.

     Then, there was a lovely half-hour when
‘Lives In The Landscape’ took us round Knighton.   That little town has been one of my
favourite places for a very long time.  
It teeters on the edge of
Wales, and is obviously Anglicised.   Its name, as you will know, is a combination
of Welsh and Anglo-Saxon:  ‘cnwch’ and
‘ton’.   A perfect name for a settlement
right on Offa’s Dyke!

 

A Strange Metaphor

     Defence of the indefensible is always a
dodgy practice.   On Friday morning’s
“Good Morning,
Wales”, Radio Wales, an interviewee
claimed that the disgustingly large bonuses given to bank executives were just
like the apple in the Garden of Eden.

     Well, we all know that story, don’t
we?   And we know what the terrible
result was, too!

     But, perhaps, the gentleman is not far
wrong in what he said . . .

 

Archie Lowe

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

