Saturday, 17th April, 2010.

Mother Nature’s
Cure?

     I was enjoying a sit in the sun this week
when a neighbour drew my attention to something in the sky.   I had not noticed it before.

     “Look,” he said.

     I looked.  
“I can’t see anything,” I told him.

     “That’s right,” he replied, “It’s just
clear blue sky.”

     I began to wonder about his mental state!

     “D’you know why?” he asked.

     Deciding to humour him, I played
along.   “Why?” I responded.

     “It’s due to that volcano erupting in Iceland.”

     “Er . . . yes . . .?”

     “There are no vapour-trails polluting the
atmosphere,” he smiled.

     And, indeed, he was right.   For the first time in ages, not a plane had
flown across Welsh skies.   Those pretty,
intersecting vapour-trails are planet-polluters, whether we realise it or not.

     I wonder how many trails are left over
your patch of our land each day, how many planes there are passing over
Wales from the USA, or Ireland, or England – or even those which use Welsh
airports.

    My neighbour pointed out that, had all
those flights been cancelled due to “terrorist action”, there would have been a
huge hue-and-cry about it.   But, because
this is a natural phenomenon, we – whoever the “we” are in this case – just
accept the inconvenience.

     So perhaps, just perhaps, our planet is
fighting back.

 

Politics And
Pollution

     You and I are fed up to the back teeth of
the mass of junk mail we are having heaped upon us by the political parties
presently.   They come in all shapes and
sizes, and in all colours.

     They are printed in their thousands –
millions – in the hope that they will convince us to vote for one candidate or
another.   Or to vote at all.

     Surely any party which preaches “planetary
welfare” (and they all do) would be well aware that the production of all this
bumph is not beneficial to our environment.

     So, as I often say, if you can’t decide
which of them is the least worst, don’t show apathy by not going to the Polling
Station:  show positivity by going and
spoiling your vote.   The more of us who
do that, the clearer the message to the politicians.

     And, when they come a-knocking at your
door, please mention the matter of their bumph to them – politicians always
have the answer to every question.

 

Well, Not Always

     May I congratulate Rhun ap Iorwerth on his
excellent interview with a representative of UKIP on “Good Morning,
Wales” one morning this week?

     Putting it briefly, Rhun asked the U-Kipper
how
Wales could benefit by having European money
earmarked to come here stopped.   The U-Kippers
want to keep all the cash allocated to
Wales and Scotland and Ulster in the pockets of the Westminster gang.

     The interviewee blustered and talked over Rhun’s
questioning and convinced me that UKIP is merely a more sophisticated version
of the BNP.   And Rhun did the interview
with absolutely no trace of bias.

     Diolch yn fawr, Rhun bach.

Archie Lowe

archie.lowe@laughingdragons.co.uk

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

