Saturday, 6th November, 2010.

Promises, Promises

Not a very original heading, I’m afraid.   And, indeed, I could use it again and again when I mention what one or other politician claims to be going to do for us.

So, when my clock-alarm woke me the other morning, I was not surprised to hear a University Lecturer – this one was from Aberystwyth – talking about the change of attitude among students over the rotten idea of the ConDem government in Wasteminster to mess about with fees.

He told us that, as an alternative to New Labour and not wanting the Tories to gain power, a large percentage of students turned to – and voted for – the Lib-Dems.   That was mainly because the Lib-Dems had promised not to interfere with student-fees.

Now, of course, that bunch of . . . er . . . that political party has done an about turn on the matter and fallen into step with the Tories.   So student-fees are to be “overhauled”.

Which causes consternation among our student population and, according to the broadcast, they are turning against the Lib-Dems in great numbers.

This all revolves around the Ruling Class in Britain wanting to curb the education of poorer families;  families which have been used as factory-fodder in peacetime and gun-fodder in wartime for many centuries.   Thus, those who have produced the wealth (such as it is these days) of Great Britain must be kept in their place to carry on in their simple, uneducated ways.   Can’t have ‘em getting ideas above their station, can we?

I would suggest, dear reader, that you pursue my comments further by getting hold a copy of “The English Common Reader” and finding out how Those-Who-Know-What’s-Best-For-Us tried all sorts of ruses to stop literacy among the working-class.

 

Similarities

My neighbour stopped me in the street.

“Did I hear right?” he asked.   “Is it true that the BBC are cutting two hours a day off our Welsh radio-stations to save money?   That’s what I thought I just heard on Radio Cymru.”

I had not heard the news, but told him I’d try to find out.

I did so yesterday morning.   My radio-alarm went off at 6:45 and my room was filled with the nasal sound of a lady from the USA reporting on happenings in Puerto Rico.   That voice certainly did not belong to my old mate Ollie Hydes;  and that topic did not seem to have any part in Welsh news (unless ‘Mimosa II’ had sailed out from our shores in an attempt to save what is left of the Welsh culture).

In Puerto Rico, though its citizens may wander in and out of the States and join the American fighting forces as if they were fully paid-up members of the USA’s community, they cannot vote for the Commander In Chief who might send them into battle.   Puerto Rico’s population is not a wealthy one, jobs being scarce.

At least I learned of a couple of the similarities between that lovely place and Wales:  we here do not have the right to decide on how our country should be run.   And jobs are scarce.

It was my guess that I was hearing the BBC World Service which goes out on the Radio Wales frequency through the night.   It was not until the familiar jingle came on at 7 o’clock and our own news came on that I understood what had happened.

So the strike of the BBC’s technicians took effect, and their action had made it difficult for me to hear “my own” radio station before 7 a.m.   So, as far as I’m concerned, the strike had teeth.

But I really did miss the early morning road-traffic report and a proper local weather forecast.   Management must always come to an agreement with its employees as quickly as possible..

 

A Bit More Freedom

Hip-hip-hooray!   Gwynedd Council has actually taken notice of what local people say.   An unusual move for any County Council.

Accordingly, they have extended the period of free Christmas parking so that local businesses can benefit from extra pre-Christmas trade.

It will now start on and from the 13th December, and extend until the 28th December.   (Yes, I know it should have been until New Year’s Day so that folk could get out to spend their Christmas-present money and vouchers – maybe another time.)

Bet the Cardis go up there in droves!   (If you don’t understand that comment, just get studying your Welsh folk-traditions.)

The only thing which needs doing now, right across Wales, is the abolition of the rotten twenty-pee charge to go to spend a penny in some towns.

Up The Revolution!

Archie Lowe

archie.lowe@laughingdragons.co.uk

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Welsh Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

