Satruday, 3rd September, 2011.

A Question Of Taste

     I was just on the Western side of Offa’s Dyke.   It was mid-morning, and I was feeling peckish.

I saw ahead of me a lay-by in which stood one of those burger-vans with an awning beside it in which were a couple of tables and a few chairs.   Clearly a luxurious restaurant at which to break my journey.

As I pulled in, I noticed a large sign:

          FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST

          SERVED HERE ALL DAY.

     I did not avail myself of that feast.   A cheese sandwich and I was on my way.

As I drove deeper into Wales, I pondered on that sign.   One sees similar adverts all over our country.   “Full English Breakfast?” my pal Dai once said.   “I never eat this foreign muck!”

So here I pose the question:  what is a full WELSH breakfast?   I never see one advertised, though I travel all over this wonderful land of ours.

I’m sure my readers will have some ideas . . .

Standing Up For Welsh Education

     Recently, I commented on the fact that our nation seemed to be bottom of the UK exam-result league.   I had this swift – and comprehensive – response:

As usual the British media (sadly including BBC Wales) show their ignorance of the situation in Wales by not taking into account the effect of the Welsh baccalaureate Advanced Diploma results. This qualification is regarded by UCAS as the equivalent of an A level and when this is factored into the Welsh figures it lifts the Welsh figures above those of England and Northern Ireland.
As Syniadau points out below, because we do have our own Welsh qualification when they are taken into account the situation improves markedly. Most of the top British Universities recognise the qualification and we should be celebrating the excellent overall results our children have achieved. That does not mean we can afford to be complacent because we do need to study why we did not get as many A* at “A” level.

     But we shouldn’t be knocking ourselves over what are very good results coming on top of figures showing that at Key stage 2 the Welsh results are ahead of England. As stated earlier our children’s education is too important for us to be complacent but there are far too many including “Welsh media” willing to talk Wales down.”

And my correspondent added this link:  http://syniadau–buildinganindependentwales.blogspot.com/2011/08/wales-422-northern-ireland-345-england.html


archie.lowe@googlemail.com

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Welsh Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

