Saturday, 29th October, 2011.

Really?

     I’m sure I heard a news report on some radio station or other that George Carey, a former Archbishop of Canterbury, is criticising St. Paul’s, London, for closing its doors to Rentacrowd . . . er . . . protesters.

Not only that, said the report (I think!), but dear old George used to write a column in The News of the World.

Perhaps he was in the World, but not of it (read your Bible!).

     Thank goodness – or God – that we have a decent Welshman is doing the job which Georgie-baby vacated.

Personal Politics

     I attended a local event this week.   It brought together people from the community in which I live – and there was free food!

Whilst wandering around and chatting with friends and neighbours, my Assembly Member came over to us and joined in the local gossip.   Our AM seemed almost to know every one of us personally and, indeed, here in Wales, that could be true and apply to every AM.

We all know her, too, and may see her doing such mundane things as shopping when we’re doing our own.   So we exchange a few words then, as well.

And that, dear reader, is why we need our Assembly.   Here in Wales, we are small enough to get to know our politicians on a personal basis – and can decide whether we like them enough to vote for them from our own knowledge of the candidates.

Independence cannot be a bad thing, then.   Or do Those-Who-Know-What’s-Best-For-Us believe that the people of Wales are incapable of knowing their own minds?

Differing Standards

     The Denbigh Moors are a lovely area.   There have been times in my life when I’ve enjoyed just “being there”:  emptying my head of all my worries for a while and concentrating on . . . well . . . nothing!

And I point out here and now that, having been on the music-scene myself, that I have no objection to raves.   In fact, I’m old enough to remember the man who invented the label “rave” to describe a music event (mail me if you know who that was).

Yet I do not approve of people ignoring the law.   And we seem to have a growing bunch of people among us who believe that, firstly, everything you and I (and they) see and experience all around us is not real;  and, secondly, that there should be no laws (you should see some of ‘em drive!).

So we – the taxpayers – have to ensure that we fund our Police Service sufficiently to allow officers to stop law-breakers from doing what they like.   And those law-breakers will always try to do what they like, irrespective of the free choices of other people.

You will know that I do not accept the theory that in this country or throughout the UK we have “freedom”.   We have some of that ideal, of course – so we must act to preserve our freedoms.

Not A Capital Idea

     Our capital is under threat.

Cardiff is said by some to be “the newest capital city in the UK”.   Well, that’s a point of contention when one reads the history of our land!

But our capital is about to become downgraded.   Its airport is dwindling, apparently, and is a risk of eventually being downgraded to a mere shadow of itself.   It could end up as a tiny little place like, say, Wolverhampton airport.

It is part of our capital-city.   Do Those-Who-Know-What’s-Best-For-Us not understand that?   Or is this part of the general downgrading of our land so that hope of an independent state will dwindle, too?

The attitude in Wasteminster – to our broadband connections, our mobile-phone signals, and many other things – always seems to be:  “It’s only Wales”.

archie.lowe@googlemail.com

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Welsh Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

