Saturday, 17th March, 2012.

Tiny Town Honoured

     St. Asaph has always been one of my favourite places.   But I have always made the mistake which so many folk make.

I thought that, if a place had a cathedral, it was automatically classed as a city.   Something to do with ancient religious law-making.   And I don’t know which is the bigger place, St. Asaph or St. David’s.

Anyway, now the little town had been properly promoted to a city.   Seems that’s due to something concerning Elizabeth Mountbatten nee Windsor – for whom I shall vote again the next time she puts up for election.

Next time I visit St. Asaph, I shall do so with great respect and behave myself in a manner befitting its new status.

That Other Election

     In mentioning elections, congratulations to Leanne Wood for winning her contest to become Leader of Plaid Cymru.

Leanne is an unusual Leader of the party.   Firstly, she’s female – and you all thought that the party was run by blokes.   Secondly, she is not first-language Welsh.   It’s rather good to hear herSouth Walian voice, too.

But this lady means business.   She has republican views and will lead our nation towards independence.   And our Leanne will stick to her guns, I’m sure.

I would remind her – and you – again that Plaid Cymru is Plaid Cymru, not just a branch of some party based in England which has shoved the word “Welsh” in front of its name to sound as if it is run from somewhere in our land.

Let us wish Leanne success.

And, if you feel that I’m sounding too familiar by calling the lady by her first name, may I remind you that this is Wales and that is how egalitarian our society is – despite many of the English middle-classes coming to dwell here . . .

Our Past Revealed

     Archaeologists from University of Wales Trinity-St. David– which you and I know as Lambed Uni – have found fossilised footprints on the beach up in Borth, Ceredigion.   They say that the prints could be from Bronze Age time – some 3,000 years ago.

My pal Dai who lives in Old Cardiganshire tells me that he believes they could be the footprints of Brummies who have been coming to Borth for many years.   He says that all they need to find now is a couple of fossilised crisp-packets and a few cigarette butts to prove his theory.

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

