Saturday, 23rd June, 2012.

Where Is Wales?

     I was driving in an area of the Marches where radio reception is pretty bad.   It was early morning and I was listening to BBC Radio 4.   This is the Beeb’s posh station and is still broadcast, I believe, on 1500 metres Long Wave.

The “national” weather forecast came on.   It was pretty comprehensive, mentioning most parts of the British Isles.   The weather-girl mentioned South Wales. . .  but did not mention North Wales.   So, maybe, that area had no weather that day.

It got me to thinking which area is classed, by the Beeb in London, as “South Wales”.   There was a time when the Corporation meant The Valleys when it used that phrase.   So, perhaps, in the forecast I heard, most of our land was ignored.

And not for the first time the age-old question came into my mind:  “Where, exactly, does North Wales end and South Wales begin?”

Old George Borrow was told (or made up the story) when he walked Wales from North to South in 1854 that the Dyfi (Dovey) marks the division.   But where, on the Eastern side of Wales, is the “dividing line”?

Remembering

     I must mention the passing of that lovely man, Victor Spinetti.

He was a nice bloke, full of smiles and amusing anecdotes.   He seemed to appear in many, many films and television shows, and did a fair bit of radio.

He had the talent to make us smile.   Just looking at his cheery face made us realise that life was better than we thought.

Victor will not be forgotten.

The Independence Issue

     Our First Minister, Carwen Jones, has commented – sensibly, I reckon – on Scotland’s forthcoming (well, in a couple of years) referendum.   He feels that there is a danger attached to the straightforward choice of Scotland being independent and staying as it is.

He is quoted as saying:  “People would be forced into a choice between the status quo – which it seems to me the people of Scotland don’t want – and independence which the opinion polls again suggest is something the people of Scotland are reluctant to accept”.

“They (the people) need to feel that their nation has the right level of autonomy and I don’t think at the moment, and it’s true of Wales as well incidentally, but I don’t think in Scotland at the moment that debate is happening.”

It’s good to note that our Welsh government is thinking of our future and looking forward to when we, too, have to make our democratic choice.

Postscript

     My spies along Cardigan Bay tell me that Charles Windsor, the English Prince of Wales, has not yet managed to visit the areas which were flooded over a week ago.   I shall keep you updated.

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

