Saturday, 22nd December, 2012.

We’re Still Here!

     A friend of mine reminded me this morning that the comic Michael Bentine was once photographed in the guise of a newspaper-seller and wearing a placard which read:  “World Ended Yesterday”.

I mention this because, as I’ve wandered through Wales recently, I’ve met a fair few followers of the Mayan calendar who have assured me that the Mayans had forecast the end of the world was to be on 21st December, 2012.   I also met followers of the same dating system who assured me that the date would be the 12th of December this year.

May I say that those followers were not native-born Welsh folk but incoming hippy-types – which gives me renewed hope for the future of Wales!

How Widespread Is Child-Molesting?

     Ian Watkins’ of the Lostprophets has been arrested for child-molesting.   Just another name to add to the list of suspects dragged out of the woodwork following the revelations about the evil Jimmy Savile.

Every decent person in the world is appalled at such perversions – and I wonder how widespread those perversions are in our land.

I wonder, too, who or what is involved in the massive cover-up of Savile’s network.

We in Wales must encourage the reporting of any suspicious signs.   And we must campaign strongly for heavier penalties for the guilty.   Seems to me that they only get a few years in prison.   The anguish of their victims lasts a lifetime.

Perhaps our campaign should start badgering our Assembly Government about the situation.

But It’s Christmas . . .

     . . . and that’s a time of rejoicing, of getting together in families and as friends to enjoy goodwill and happiness.

Here in Wales, Land of Song, we’ll hear cheery carols sung by happy choirs.   We’ll bid everyone we see “Nadolig Llawen” (a phrase which always sounds better and gentler in Welsh).   It is a time to get to know our neighbours a little better and to welcome newcomers into our communities.

So let us for a while forget all the bad news and celebrate together this age-old Winter Festival.

A Merry Christmas and a Peaceful and Prosperous New Year to you all!

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

