Saturday, 5th April, 2014.

Changes In High Places?

     A Minister in the Wasteminster government has been accused of not being very helpful in an investigation into her expense claims.   It must be pointed out, though, that she did spend half-a-minute apologising to “The House” for her apparent unhelpfulness.

There are cries from various quarters that Mr. Cameron should drop her from his Cabinet (I shall make no pun there).   And it’s been suggested from similar quarters that she been sent to work in The Welsh Office.

So I wonder if it’s a case of Wasteminster’s cast-offs being dumped on Wales because Wales, to the people in Mother England’s capital, doesn’t really matter?

On My Travels . . .

     . . . I had cause to travel through the more-or-less centre of our land recently.   And I found a technical hitch in one of our central towns.

I think you should be advised, in case you ever need to drive that way, that Newtown, Powys, has one main road running through it from end to end.   And that, in that short distance, there are six sets of traffic-lights!

I came to the town at about three-thirty in the afternoon.   And the traffic was horrendous!   Long, long tailbacks were being caused by those wretched lights, some of which are pedestrian-controlled.

Now then, Newtown is a neat little place.   The people there are as friendly as anywhere in Wales.   But visitors heading towards our West coast will certainly be irritated by hold-ups like I experienced.   That irritation may even cause some of them never to return to Wales.

We – our nation – cannot have such silly hold-ups on our roads.   Especially in the hole-diggery season (there were many temporary traffic-lights all over Mid-Wales when I was driving there).

So come on, Newtown – get your traffic problem sorted!   It’s gone on for far too many years.

Wales Leads The Way (Perhaps)

     I am a born-again non-smoker.   I broke myself of the habit many years ago, but I know what an addictive thing tobacco is.

I know several people who are trying to give up.   And many of them are using e-ciggies.

Now, our Assembly Government are proposing to ban e-cigs in public places.   Apparently, the sight of them being used will encourage younger folk to take up smoking tobacco.

Personally – and I might be wrong – I reckon young people are generally bright enough to take heed of the anti-smoking facts which are publicised generally.   So I don’t know what the fuss is about – can someone please tell me?

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

