Saturday, 17th May, 2014.

Is This Justice?

     I was surprised and a little shocked to hear of the case of a driver who drove into some children and their lollipop-lady.

There’ll be no names, no pack-drill here, but it seems that the driver “lost control” of his car.   As I drive about Wales, I see signs near every school warning drivers – in Welsh and in English – that there’s a school-crossing ahead.   Also, it’s usual for such crossings to have a 20mph speed-limit for several yards along the road.

The thing which really concerned me when I heard about this case was that the driver got fined only £100 and got four points on his licence!

One wonders, of course, just what the reports I heard didn’t say about the reasons the driver gave for the accident.   They must have been good ones, because he still has his licence.

All praise to the lollipop lady who tried to get between the approaching car and the children she was helping across the road to save them from injury.

But I can’t help thinking of the song which runs:  “Make the punishment fit the crime . . .

And Still The Celebrations Continue!

     In my opinion – as I’ve said here before – Dylan Thomas was one of the greatest poets of the 20th Century.   I visited his grave for the first time recently, and also saw the strange sculpture of him in Laugharne.

There are lots of things going on commemorating him and his genius in this, the 100th anniversary year of his birth.   And I keep hearing all sorts of people quoting his writings.

May I say that I believe the only voices which should ever be heard reading Dylan’s brilliant works are Dylan himself (of course!) and Richard Burton.   Burton was, of course, First Voice in the first broadcast of Under Milk Wood.

20140430_114635

     Those two voices send shivers up my spine.   Let us not forget either of those talented men.

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

