Saturday, 12th July, 2014.

No Sign Of Welcome

    One of the things I enjoy when I’ve been visiting our Eastern neighbour is to see a large road-sign reminding me – if I needed reminding! – that I am about to cross the border back into my adopted country.

Having lived in Wales for a very long time, I suffer hiraeth whenever I leave our land.   I want to get back and start saluting the magpies.   And enjoy the “feel” of a Welsh community.

I was dismayed, then, when coming back last week from Shrewsbury, planning to head South from Welshpool.

There was no such road-sign on that road to welcome me back to my homeland.

Yes, there was one telling me I was entering Powys, but that was all.   Can it be that a pack of English nationalists who, thinking Wales is but a county of Mother England, have removed our “Croeso I Gymru” sign?

Let us do our best to remind our English neighbours – or anyone who comes this way – that we are a separate nation and that we are different from England and other parts of the British Isles.

Reminding Us We’re Different

     A Gwynedd Councillor wants to ensure that we are all – locals and visitors – reminded that we have a national language.

From what I gather, though, Dyfed Edwards wants the language to be promoted in areas where it is the main means of communication, but be less strict about places where no Welsh is spoken.

That may seem alright on the surface.   But I reckon it will weaken the Welsh language by making it seem less important.   I struggle to learn Welsh, but recognise its importance.   It carries Welsh culture and history, and it helps both us and our visitors to realise that this special land is different from all others.

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

