Saturday, 6th September, 2014.

Hot Stuff

     It was strange, as I drove along listening to the Beeb’s “premier” radio-station, Radio 4 UK, to hear Wales mentioned specifically in a weather forecast.

Yes, they often flit through the weather they guess will hit Wales – and they usually combine our whole forecast in the mythical area of Englandnwales.   And the way it’s done is more confusing than enlightening.

When they give out the temperatures for Wales or Scotland or Northern Ireland or England, it’s usually the capitals which they mention.   I don’t think the London-based Beeb realises that our land is a bit bigger than an English county!   The temperature forecast for Cardiff applies to very little of this country, for most of us live a goodly distance from our capital.

So when the excellent town of Pembroke was said to have had the highest temperature in the British Isles one day this week, I was so very pleased.   I wonder, though, if the man who read the weather forecast that evening knew where Pembroke was or how far it is from Cardiff.

Supporting Our Friends

     I received a mail-shot from Plaid Cymru this week inviting me to a meeting to discuss how we, the people of Wales, can show support for and help the folk in Scotland who are working towards a “Yes” vote soon.

It struck me as odd at first.   Then I realised that Scotland’s progress towards independence may well set the pattern for other parts of the “United” Kingdom to gain the same.

So what we learn from the Scots will be put into practice as we, too, head towards independence.

The only thing I would ask Plaid to do is to make a clear answer to a question I hear asked in many parts of Wales.   Our people ask:  “Independence from WHAT?”

Over to you, Plaid Cymru.

And I wish success to Scotland’s “Yes” campaign.

1b2f4b8b-f6e0-41e9-b5e1-bf8537191c17

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

