Saturday, 13th September, 2014.

Democracy?

     It seems that the Wasteminster wallahs are about to make it possible for crooked MPs to get the sack.   “About time, too!” I hear you cry.

Certainly, the idea seems just.   You and I would get the sack instantly if we fiddled our expenses or did something equally – or more – crooked.

So, it the person you sent to Wasteminster from your area breaks the rules, it’s the sack for that crooked person.   And it’s you and I who will see . . . er . . . no, I’m wrong:  it’s not the voters who’ll do the sacking.   It’s fellow MPs!   There’s a fiddle if you like!

We in Wales have our own (subservient) government.   I do not know of any AM who seems to be on the fiddle.   The ones I know personally are decent people who represent areas in which they were born and raised.

So how about Wales setting the standards and insisting that – if an AM is naughty – it is us, the People of Wales who do the sacking?   That seems democratic to me.

A Sad Closure

     It seems that the University of South Wales is about to close down its campus in Caerleon.   They’re going to spend three-million quid on expanding their campus in Newport.

I suppose, as I age, I dislike change more and more.   But I suppose this plan will have to go ahead.

What makes me sad is that the beautiful old building which held all those students may stand empty for a while.   It seemed the perfect place for a university base.   And its atmosphere is so conducive to study.

However, I wish USW well and hope their plans are successful.

Pointing The Way?

     In a few days time, our Scottish friends will be voting in their Independence Referendum.   For their nation to have come that far is an achievement.

I keep hearing “What will it do for Wales?”, and, indeed, one wonders how the result of Scotland’s bid for freedom from Wasteminster rule – whichever way it goes – will affect our land.

It’s good, of course, that the Scots have got this far without a violent revolution.   We, too, must work towards our own Independence Referendum in a peaceful manner – however much anger our frustration engenders.

The Scottish independence-movement had a big boost from The Three Stooges . . . sorry:  the three major-party leaders a few days ago.   The rhubarb all three of ‘em spouted is enough to change the minds of potential “No” voters.

Let’s get working towards the same sort of democratic vote which the Scots are getting.

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

