Saturday, 21st March, 2015.

A Non-Event For Some

          I was in the wrong place at the wrong time yesterday, I think.   I kept hearing on my car-radio that people in Wales would have a good view of the eclipse.   And it was a sunshiny morning.

Driving round the Cambrian Mountains, right there in the middle of our land, though, I hardly saw anything.

Yes, the sky was clear.   But, remembering the last eclipse, I was expecting the countryside to go peculiarly dark – not quite night-like – all the birds to go quiet and to see (through proper darkened glasses) the shadow of the Moon pass across the glare of the Sun.

All I saw was a slight shadow in the top right-hand corner of the Sun.   So much for “people in Wales having a good view”!

However, had I been down in Cardiff, I could have joined lots of other folk to enjoy what some would call “the spectacle of a lifetime”.   In fact, it would have been the second one I have seen in my lifetime.   I was in Wales in 1999 and went, with a bunch of other hippy-type people, to Gors Fawr stone-circle in the Preseli Mountains of Pembrokeshire.

There, then, I saw a proper eclipse.   And I doubt if I’ll be around for the next one!

Reaching For The Sky?

          Seems that Wales will soon have a seaplane zooming around connecting remote places like Cardiff to teeming metropolises such as Bala.   It is, apparently, a commercial venture set for success.   The very fact that it will give quick and simple connections between all sorts of places in our land should make us happy.   For will that not bring financial success all round?

Especially if our seas and lakes remain calm enough for the thing to take off and land safely . . .

See you up there in the often-thick Welsh clouds sometime!

Education Matters

          My spies tell me that there are rumblings among workers at Aberystwyth University.   Staff feel that the management are not quite up to running the place.

This news – if news it be – comes from what the press is calling “a whistleblower”.   That’s someone who works at Aber Uni and is aware of the situation.

Certainly, student numbers are falling.   That would seem to indicate that something is amiss.

Yet – and one would expect this – the management denies that there are rumblings.   I suppose that, as in most cases of this nature, time alone will tell.

But what a loss to dear old Aber if the Uni starts to dwindle:  the whole economy of the town seems to be based on its student-population.  That is if all the trendy clothing-shops are any indication . . .

 Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

 

 

 

 

 

Oo – and a Happy Solstice, everyone!

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

