Saturday, 4th July, 2015

Common Knowledge

     As I travel about this special land of ours, I hear lots of The People of Wales asking why, in the Wasteminster Parliament, are English MPs allowed to vote on matters concerning only other parts of the “United” Kingdom.

I ask that, too – and I ask it of many of my friends who live in England.   The answers are usually vague.

Plaid Cymru and other sensible organisations are pushing for reform which will give Welsh MPs the right to vote on only Welsh matters, Scots MPs to vote on only Scottish matters, Northern Irish MPs to vote on only Northern Irish matters, and English MPs to vote on only English matters.

Seems logical to me.   So why the hold up?   Have a think about the answer to that question:  you won’t have to think very hard.

 Bad News

     Sir Fon – Anglesey – Council has decided to simply cut the salaries of Teaching Assistants by anything up to 27%!

Yes, it takes some believing.   And the excuse is “to ensure that all staff are paid equally”.

OK, then – why not just up the wages of those who aren’t being paid enough?

So congratulations to the four-hundred or so people who protested at the Council’s offices this week.   Let us support their action and contact our Assembly Members about the Council’s silly idea.

Hot Stuff

     Yes, I know that heading is corny.   Yet this week has been hotter than hot.   In Ceredigion and Denbighshire, they had sweltering 26C (that’s about 79F in old money).

Certainly we have had, if I may use the phrase, unseasonable weather.   No-one I know can remember heat in Wales such as we’ve had over the last few days.

But it’s given many folk the opportunity to proclaim their Welshness by saying, bilingually, “Oooh, we shall suffer for this!”.

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

