Saturday, 18th July, 2015.

Decisions, Decisions

     I hear that George Osborne, Wasteminster’s Chancellor, has told us that there’s a “really strong” case for electrifying railway lines in North Wales.

Look:  there’ve been such programmes going on in South Wales for a while now.   Why should Y Gogledd be seen as anything different?

Indeed, right across Mother England these programmes have been going on for many years.   Yet there has been very little interest in that by the British media.

But, I suppose, Mr. Osborne may well be seeking popularity with the people of North Wales.   Now that the Tories are our controllers, they must seek to pacify any anti-Tory feeling.

So what he should do is simply get on with starting the proposed electrification and, when it’s done, the People of Wales up there in the Gog will choose to think what they like – instead of having carrots dangled in front of them.

The People React!

     No – it’s not a glorious revolution here in Wales!   Simply a demonstration of how a few lads in Cardigan feel about having to pay for parking.

The town’s parking-meters have been “vandalised” and put out of use.   Quickly, the local Council started the work of putting them back into working order.

Meantime, since the dreadful deed was done back at the beginning of June, local shops and other traders have found that more people are visiting the town and spending their money!

Surely that must tell councillors something.   But does any politician, local or national, take much notice of what’s really happening on his or her patch?

Questions, Questions

     Several . . . well, a few . . . of my readers have asked me why I don’t include this or that news item in my weekly comments.

Well, a lot of things happen in Wales every week.   I trust the questioners realise that.   And I only have one brain to cope with what I hear as I wander around our land.

So whatever takes my fancy, I write about.   Some things stick, some don’t.   Therefore, I comment on the few things which seem to be the most important to me.

If anyone wants to add items at any time, just scroll down and enter a comment.   Then, I may – or may not – approve it and it’ll get published.

But for goodness sake don’t use this facility for commercial advertising!   (Yes, dear reader, that happens more often than you think.)

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

