Saturday, 19th September, 2015

Getting Bogged Down

     Suddenly, the state of public-toilets in Powys makes headline news!

     The County Council hopes to save twenty-seven million pounds by transferring responsibility for the upkeep of the facilities to various community groups.  I imagine those groups will be delighted to take on the responsibilities of cleaning lavatories.#

     I have to say that the worst public-toilet I’ve ever had the misfortune to visit was in Powys.   It still stands , I believe, in Cwmdauddwr, an area of Rhayader (which used to be in Radnorshire).   It was absolutely filthy, so I’ve never been back.

     If anyone knows anything about the current state of that edifice, please let me know.

A Deserved Honour

     I am no sports fan, as you will have gathered.   But even I remember the time when the name of Gareth Edwards was always being included when sport was  mentioned.

     He’s a nice chap, and brought honour – and skills – to Welsh Rugby.   So it’s grand that he should have received a knighthood for what he has done for sport, both on and off the field.

     We could do with more like him.

None Of My Business

     The fact that The Church-In-Wales (Anglicans) have decided to let same-sex couples marry in their churches is being bandied about all over the place.

     Look – if opposite-sex couples marry, they take their own preferences with them into that marriage.   And they have happy memories of the Big Day.

     Gay-marriages should make no difference to those happy memories.  “All You Need Is Love.”

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201


About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

