Saturday, 3rd October, 2015

Sports Frenzy

       You will know that I have very little interest in any kind of sport.   Yet even I became affected by pride in our Welsh team when, shortly after I went to press last Saturday, I heard that Wales had beaten England – rather thoroughly – in the World Rugby Cup thing.

     It may sound strange that someone who is an immigrant to our land can feel so much patriotic spirit what our team wins.   “It’s only a game,” some would say.

     But to beat Mother England at anything must be seen as an act of defiance.

     Let us hope that, when the cheering dies away, more and more of The People of Wales will realise that Wales is not a colony of our neighbour across Offa’s Dyke.   And act accordingly.

Education

     I heard this week that a University in England – Manchester, I think it is – is starting a degree-course in pop music.   I suppose that part of the world is besotted with such trivia.

     However, I have put an idea forward to all the Universities in Wales giving them my idea on a more-than-important subject which should go on their curriculums.   What about a degree-course on which way up to hold a daffodil on St. David’s Day?

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

