Saturday, 30th January, 2016.

Just Thinking . . .

     . . . if it might be better if I changed the way I publish my weekly comments about Wales and its news.

     I’ve been told it’s easier to access Facebook pages, and it’s easier to publish stuff on there and receive instant replies.   So the idea is under consideration.

     It would be helpful if you, dear reader, could let me have your thoughts on the matter.   Thank you.

Good News At Last!

     It’s been a tough old year for Wales where jobs have been concerned.   Many working-people have been “made redundant” in recent times, lots of them unable to find new jobs.

     So it was great – and surprising to me! – to hear that, up in Sir Fon (Anglesey), 1,700 jobs are being created as a new plant is built to work in an ecological way.   It will recycle vegetable material and create power – presumably electrical – from the remains of that material.

     There will be 1,200 construction jobs created, presumably just for the building of the plant.  And there’ll be 500 permanent jobs when the project is complete.   The project will be underway soon, I’m told, and will be completed in a couple of years time.

Some Bad News, Some Good News

    Often, when I hear about something happening in our Eastern neighbour, I don’t pay much attention.   However, when a comparison is made between Wales and the land beyond Offa’s Dyke, I take notice.

     It seems that Wales is lagging behind Mother England when it comes to NHS waiting-times.   The waiting-times for hip operations seem to have attracted the most publicity, by the way!

     But I know we can change the situation.   Let our Assembly start working on the challenge.

     On the plus side, many more Welsh schools are doing their jobs better, and have been reported as performing better.   And education is an important commodity.

Wild Welsh Windy Weather!

     This Winter has produced the highest winds I can remember here in Wales for many a year.   And with Storm Gertrude knocking about (I think that’s her name), we’re in for another pounding over the next few days.

     She has done much damage already – mainly fallen trees which have caused transport difficulties.

     All this, plus lots and lots of rain creating deep floods and rivers bursting their banks is not a joyful prospect.   So I would advise – as I’ve advised so often – that we prepare ourselves, our loved ones, our neighbours and our homes for whatever emergencies which could happen in our local areas.

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.doc

img201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

