Saturday, 5th March, 2016

The Need For Welsh Leadership

     Thanks goodness somebody noticed!

That Wales needs proper leadership, I mean.   And it was Leanne Wood who noticed it.

Not that she called it “proper leadership”, using the words “new leadership” instead – but I think we all understood what she meant.   The Labour Party has been in charge of our Government for nigh on two decades.   It does not seem to me that the hearts of those Labour AMs are really in Wales.   They owe allegiance to a party based firmly in Mother England.

So let us hope that a party based in Wales and caring for Welsh matters gains power in our Welsh Assembly in a couple of months’ time.

Can you guess which way I’ll be voting . . . ?

You Must Be Joking

     Not a lot seemed to be happening in Wales this week.   Apart from Leanne’s speech, politics – about which these rants usually are – was a bit quiet.

So, when I heard about this silly story, I couldn’t resist including it in my column.

Laura Ingarfield made a very slight, seemingly insignificant error this week – and was severely penalised for it.   It’s the sort of mistake we all make from time to time.

Laura was visiting Reel Cinema in Port Talbot.   She parked her car and entered her registration-number in the parking-machine.

Alas, she quite accidentally typed the letter “O” into the machine instead of a zero.   Quite easily done, I reckon.

The mistake earned her a £100 fine!

Though Laura has explained what had happened to Those-In-Authority, they claim they are within their rights and are still calling it “a breach of the site rules”.

Laura – I really do hope you win your case.

And to Minster Baywatch, who administer the car-park, I would say “Be ye not daft!”.

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

