Saturday, 4th June, 2016

The Arguments

     The argy-bargy over the Stay or Leave issue bangs on.   I find the rhetoric irritating.   And so, I suspect, does most of the electorate.

     Many people I know are confused as to which way to vote.   That is not because they are stupid, it’s because the big-mouths on both sides seem to come up with all sorts of alternative reasons for Staying or Leaving, and there’s so many lies whizzing around.

     Immigration seems to have become the focal point of all the arguments.   As an immigrant to Wales – and one who has made his way in life here without State funding – I trust you will not blame the people who come here for any future problems.   Wales is a land of neighbourliness and caring.

     There is really no way anyone can tell what the future holds, whether the UK remains part of the EU or not.   So one should ask the question which this column so often has asked:  “What’s in it for Wales?”.

     On balance, I feel, our land enjoys good support from the EU.   Much funding comes to us from the organisation, and will continue if it’s a Stay vote.

     If we Leave, that funding will cease.   From where, then, will the money come to fund such important things as our NHS and our education-system?

    That issue alone convinces me that Staying is the only option for The People of Wales.

     And that, my friends, is all that I will write about what’s going on in our land this week.

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

