Saturday, 18th June, 2016

Speaking Welsh

     I listen to the radio a lot.   And – he said, shame-faced – not always to Radio Wales or Radio Cymru.

     When being a traitor, I try to avoid news broadcasts so that I can enjoy my trip without wondering if what some politician has just said is true or false.   For preference, I try to find comedy-shows.   And there are a fair few of those on Radio 4 UK (that is not a plug for the Beeb!).

     Often, there is a Welsh character in these comedies.   And that character is either thick or aggressive or both.   But it’s the accent of such characters which irks me.   They all speak – whether the actors were born and bred in Wales or not – in what I can only describe as “an extreme Valleys accent”.

     Have the writers of the scripts or the actors themselves not realised that Wales is a place of wonderfully different accents?   One can travel right the way down our land and notice, within a few miles, it seems, that the sound of speaking has changed.

     Let me just leave it at this:  in the Gog, they have a rich, throaty sound;  in West Wales, it’s a lighter, dancing sound;  and in the Valleys, yes – it’s a BBC sort of accent (listen to Leanne Wood some time!).

By Next Week . . .

     . . . we shall all know the result of this pesky referendum.   And the pundits will have chewed it all over and come up with the reasons for that result.

     Please make sure you go to the polling-station, even if it’s to spoil you ballot-paper.   That will show you’re not apathetic.

     May I remind you yet again that the question you must ask yourself before you cast your vote is:  “What’s in it for Wales”?

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

