Saturday, 25th June, 2016

Afterthoughts

     Like people, I became fed up of all the hype, half-truths and speculation leading up to Thursday’s vote.   The confusion in most people’s minds was great.

     Then, with a predictably close verdict, the United Kingdom chose to leave the EU.

     As you know, I always ask the question:  “What’s in it for Wales?”.   And, with the future still not certain, I cannot answer that.   Certainly, our land will lose much EU funding – and I do not think that the Wasteminster government will replace that.

     I note that the Cardiff area and mostly-rural Ceredigion voted against leaving.   But Wales as a whole voted to get out.

     Well, a fact is a fact.   We shall not be part of the EU in future (though it will take two years to actually leave . . . ).   And we must choose to work together for the common good – that is what The People of Wales have always done in times of confusion.

     I look forward to seeing if the Brexit  predictions of a brighter future were accurate.

     And that’s about the last you’ll read in this column about the whole thing – you and I are fed up to the rear molars with it.

Picture in Archie Lowe, Editor.docimg201

About Archie Lowe

Though not born in Wales, I have lived and worked here for many years now. I love the place and love that mercurial thing "Welshness". I have been accused of being "a Taffophile" - which is pretty near the truth. The question I ask whenever some idea comes up for the whole of the UK is: "What's in it for Wales". I believe in an independent Wales and am so pleased that our Assembly is a big step on that road.
This entry was posted in News and politics, Wales, Welsh Affairs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

